
You can turn back time by opting out of the algorithm on Instagram, and it's led many people to wonder whether social media is better how it used to be, or whether it's too late to turn back.
Algorithms dominate pretty much every social media platform these days, with the content you see when scrolling more often than not going to be from accounts that you don't even follow.
This is because most people use social media to explore topics rather than people these days, with platforms like TikTok and Instagram providing posts based on things like travel, fashion, or gaming rather than specific individual accounts.
What you might now know, however, is that there's a hidden feature on Instagram that specifically allows you to opt out of the algorithm, bringing it back to the old days in the process — and it's not the only platform to allow you to do this too.
How to turn off Instagram's algorithm
As reported by The Guardian, there's isn't technically a way for you to 'turn off' the algorithm – although you can adjust it slightly – but it does take only a few finger taps to access a chronological feed exclusively filled with accounts that you follow.
Advert

In order to do this, all you need to do is press the 'Instagram' button at the top of the main home page on the app, and then select the 'Following' option to be taken to this separate dedicated feed.
Once you've done this you'll be able to endlessly scroll through every new post from the accounts that you follow, letting you catch up with everything you've chosen to tune into without missing a single thing in the process.
This is an ideal option as it doesn't revoke access to your main algorithm-driven feed, but lets people who only want to see posts from people they follow stay up to date.
There is also the option to build a group of 'Favorites' where you pick through a select number of accounts you follow, letting you fine tune that separate feed even further.

Additionally, you can also tweak both what you want to see more of and what you'd rather see less in your main feed's algorithm by following these steps:
- Head onto your profile page and press the three lines in the top right
- Scroll down to the 'What you see' section, and select the 'Content preferences' option
- Press on 'Your algorithm', and add to both sections to fine tune what you see
This is incredibly handy if you want to see less of a topic rather than an account, although if you do want to specifically avoid an account you can either block or mute the user directly, or press the two lines in the top right of any suggested post and select the 'Not interested' option.
Do any other social media platforms have this option?
Instagram isn't the only app that lets you adjust your algorithm or opt out of it entirely, as X also gives you similar tools to fine tune your feed when using the platform.
All you need to do to see a follower-only feed on X is swipe right when on the app, as this will take you to a dedicated, chronological, and follower-only timeline that's exactly how the app used to be all those years ago.

Clicking on the 'For you' option at the top also lets you snooze certain topics that you might want to avoid, and like Instagram you can also select 'Not interested in this post' by pressing the three dots at the top right of any tweet to tell the platform what you might want to avoid.
TikTok also gives users in either the EU or Kazakhstan the option to transform their 'For You' page into a general popular tab without having any content catered to your preferences.
This is done by heading to your profile, and selecting the three lines in the top right. Then you'll want to head into 'Settings and Privacy', and then 'Content Preferences'. Once you're there, find the 'Personalized feeds' option and turn it off if you're in a supported region.