
Spotify is placing new restrictions on users with Family plans and it could lead to people being locked out of their account for a year.
This comes after the music platform announced its plans to introduce a QR code verification system that would require subscribers with a Premium Family plan to verify their address in order to stay connected.
And there’s a catch, because you will have just one week to complete this task after receiving a notification on the app and, if you miss the window, then you won’t be able to join a different Family or Duo plan for 12 months.
This appears to be an effort by Spotify to crack down on people using the plan who aren’t living in the same household.
Advert

Many people have taken to social media to share their own reactions to the news, with one user writing on Reddit: “Spotify be like ‘Family member gone on holiday for 2 weeks? BANNED! Wait what's going on, why did everyone suddenly start pirating music again?’”
And another added: “Yeah my wife travels for work and can be gone 2 or 3 weeks at a time. It's not like music streaming is a novel thing. Seems like a great way to push people to the competition.”
How to verify your location on Spotify
If you are on the Family plan and have received a notification from Spotify to verify your location then head to the app and click on your profile picture.
From there, select Your Premium, followed by Manage. You will then need to scan the QR code with your phone camera.
However, there is one key part of the process, as both the plan member and the account manager - AKA the one who pays for the subscription - will need to be in the same place at the same time in order to complete the scan.

Spotify explains: “QR code verification can only be done in the mobile app. Make sure everyone has the latest version installed.
“Plan members have 7 days to complete the QR code scan after getting the notification. If a member misses the window or can’t complete verification: They can’t join a different Family or Duo plan for 12 months.”
According to the streaming platform, Premium Family is a discounted plan for up to six family members who live together, including the plan manager.
The rules are: The plan manager is the only person who signs up and pays for the plan. The plan manager can add or remove members on the plan, and can’t join other plans. All plan members have separate accounts, and log in with their own details. The plan manager can manage the playback of content for members.